Reviews

Throughout the club year we have guest speakers who share their photographic experiences, below are reviews of those evenings.


3rd October 2017: David Sage ARPS : Lacock – A Changing Village

In 1943 Harold White FRPS arrived in Lacock to take photographs depicting daily life in the village during the Second World War. It was part of a commission to illustrate a promotional pamphlet “English Villages”, published in 1945.

The pamphlet formed part of a series published by the British Council called The British People – How they Live and Work. The original silver gelatin prints show many aspects of everyday life in Lacock, but only by looking very carefully at the prints are traces of the war visible.

The purpose of the photographs was, undeniably, propagandist as they embody the notion of a ‘People’s War’ showing how daily life continued undeterred and how the Home Front was represented by all elements of the community, from school children to the local postman – all contributing to the war effort – an important reminder of British morale during the war.

Some 70 years later David Sage and Bob Bray were involved in a project to recreate Harold White’s visit and this formed the basis of their presentation. It was a memorable evening of narrative, hand-outs, AVs, prints, history of Lacock, filming of Downton Abbey, Harry Potter (Yes!) plus voices from the past and present. It was laced with amusing but also poignant anecdotes from many of the villagers that they interviewed. Great credit was given to Harold White for his original black & white photographs – many of them being shown alongside David & Bob’s contemporary (colour) prints, which they had endeavoured to recreate faithfully using similar camera angles etc.

It was fascinating to see some villagers in the recent photographs also appearing in the original 1943/44 images. This generational aspect of Lacock was a theme that David and Bob explored through their photographs and raised the question as to how much longer this would continue?

Credit was also given to the Fox Talbot family and the huge impact that William Fox Talbot has had on Photography. We saw many images of Matilda, his granddaughter, who passed across much of Lacock to The National Trust in 1944 and who died in 1956.

Funding for the project came from the Heritage Lottery Fund, with a limited edition book being published and given free to all those villagers that had participated.

Definitely an evening to remember, with the final question being posed:

Lacock – has it changed?”… the answer being left to the individual


19th September 2017: James Woodend : From Africa to the Arctic

James Boardman Woodend is an International Award Winning Photographer, with his work published in many magazines, newspapers & on TV. In 2014 he won the title of Astronomy Photographer of the Year. He has also had a Special Mention Award in International Travel Photographer of the Year & a winning image in International Garden Photographer of the Year. He has exhibited at the Royal Greenwich Observatory and the Royal Geographical Society. In addition, 2 of his images have appeared on the NASA-run Astronomy Picture of the Day (APOD).

TCC were therefore looking forward with anticipation to his visit – we were not to be disappointed!

The evening unfolded with many stunning digital photographs taken on James’s travels, with many images grouped into professional Audio Visual presentations.

Themes included the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights), Glaciers of Iceland, Wildlife of Namibia, Polar Bears at Churchill (Manitoba), surprisingly approachable Black Bears (also Manitoba), the West of Scotland and the Moscow Metro.

James was a very engaging and entertaining speaker e.g. as a former Physics teacher he shared his deep knowledge of what goes on in the core of our Sun and how we can photograph the results (Aurora) some 800,000 years later!

We were also treated to the philosophies of Moscow taxi drivers and a chance meeting with Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman in the Namibian desert.

A thoroughly entertaining evening. Well done James!


12 September 2017 – Ken Ingamells

Ken was our first speaker for the 2017/18 Season and he could not have got us off to a better start.  The title of Ken’s talk was Cold Places Photography and during the evening Ken took us from the Antarctica, through South Georgia and the Falklands up to Iceland, Norway and the Arctic.  He finished by dipping into Yellowstone, the Grand Tetons and Yosemite for good measure.

Ken started by showing us his first cameras which included a Leica III , a medium format camera and explained how he came by them and why he considered himself to be a lucky photographer.  He may well be lucky but it is clear from his pictures that they could only be captured through hard work and expertise rather than down to luck.

While Ken’s first love is to focus on ice and snow images, and the ones he showed us were truly inspiring, he also showed us many nature images capturing wildlife such as Penguins, seals, various birds and polar bears.   His professional expertise as a meteorologist meant he was able to give us a great insight into the environment in all the places he visited and his knowledge of the exploits of Captain Scott and Shackleton gave us a real feel for the hardships and challenges these early explorers faced in Antarctica.

We enjoyed an evening of seeing some breathtaking images backed by wonderful descriptions and stories that made the whole event extremely interesting and a great pleasure to attend.  Many thanks Ken!


November 29th 2016 , Jenny and Tony Byram

The club was very well entertained by Jenny and Tony Byram. They have many general photographic distinctions between them but their specialization is in audio-visual sequences (a sequence of still images put to music or accompanied by a commentary). Both are members of the Western Audio-Visual Enthusiasts Society (WAVES), Tony being the chairman and Jenny the secretary.

The first part of the evening consisted of a ‘Mr and Mrs’ approach, showing a series of sequences compiled from pictures of either Jenny or Tony illustrating the different approaches to image-making at several locations.

For the second part, the duo showed sequences of images from various parts of the world, including in particular the Venice carnival. In response to questions, Tony described much of the background to the carnival.

The evening ended on a rather poignant note, with images from the Jewish cemetery in Prague, accompanied by a reading in both Hebrew and English.


November 15th 2016 , Colin Walls

The club was host to Malvern based photographer Colin Walls who presented his talk “An Opportunistic Photographer”.

This well illustrated and well presented offering consisted of about eighty images grouped, broadly, by subject. Colin described the photographic techniques employed, discussed his reason for taking the individual pictures and what he had hoped to achieve, visually, with them. Interestingly the audience was encouraged to comment on the work as it was displayed which added an additional level of enjoyment through participation.

We learned that many of the pictures displayed were taken as a spontaneous response to the ad-hoc opportunities Colin had identified rather than being the result of careful pre-planning. The result was an eclectic mix of subjects ranging from towering architectural scenes to carefully isolated fragments of graphic interest and Including Colin’s particular love of silhouettes, reflections and marine related topics.

Clearly demonstrated was the adage ” Pictures are everywhere if we have the eye to see them and the means to capture them” Colin really does qualify on both counts


18th October  2016, Martin Fry FRPS -The Cotswold Lad Returns

Martin is from Cheltenham and is a retired head teacher. He has gained over 150 awards for both his images and Audio Visuals. He is an Hon life member of Cheltenham Camera Club and is well known as a lecturer and judge. So we were very honoured to have him visit us again. He showed us some outstanding AV’s from the Cotswolds and also from Cornwall in particular the storm on the South Devon/Cornwall coast from 2014.

He then showed us some of his award winning images and how he prepares and enters international salons and now has been awarded his EFIAP. A very interesting and entertaining evening.


11th October  2016, David Bathard FRPS – Recent India

We welcomed David back to our club but this time with his prints that he has taken on recent trips to India.

He had an amazing selection of prints which he showed us and told us a little about how they were taken and in some cases how they were printed and with which paper. We really appreciated the level of detail he went into and showed us one print – his favourite- that looked like an oil painting. He had so many prints that he was able to arrange some of them in panels – an excellent way to enhance the overall look of a group of similar images.

David finished by showing us his successful AWPF panel.


20th September  2016 , John Chamberlin FRPS – Digital Imaging around the World

John was our first speaker of this season so all the others have much to live up to! His passion for photography was obvious for us all to see and this started in 1979. He gained his ARPS in 1984 and the Fellowship the following year. He has served on many different boards and panels of the RPS over the years and is also an invited member of the London Salon.

He thinks of himself as a photographer rather than a digital artist and on his worldwide travel takes pictorial and creative images as well as being a keen nature photographer.

He was an excellent speaker and we were very grateful that he had the time to visit us considering the amount of time he must spend travelling the world and working on the huge number of quality images he showed us. We will be asking him back again.


26th April 2016 , Andrew Marker – “This Beautiful World”

On 26 April Andrew Marker was the guest speaker.  Andrew came with a series of prints and digital images to show us , some of the images were shown as a slide show accompanied by carefully selected music.   What a wonderful evening we had!
Andrew captivated those members present (this was I think the most well attended evening of the year) with some brilliant images.  The whole evening was so well delivered and balanced that it had something for everyone, those whose first interest is landscape, both larger, scenic shots (including Yellowstone and the Grand Teton) and macro, those who were more into abstract images, such as the reflections in water, and also those who would have loved the portrait images Andrew showed us of the carnival at Venice.  But of course while we all might have favourite subjects or topics, as keen photographers we were bound to be thrilled by all the images we saw as they were quite stunning.
The preparation that went into Andrew’s talk was clearly evident from the number of images he showed us, including his panel submission, and how they were arranged.  He supported his talk using his own equipment, including his own musical system.  We are extremely grateful Andrew  accepted our invitation to visit the Club!